Printmaking Simplicity

Ken Swanson Printmaking  For some reason, I find myself being drawn to simple art forms: basic shapes, solid colors, large black outlines.  It might be as basic as a children’s coloring book, but I love it!

Over the years I’ve appreciated cubist pieces for their ability to reduce icons of life to their most elementary shape, but recently I’ve developed an interest lenolium printmaking.  Ken Swanson does some great stuff.  Ken softens some of my prior aversion regarding the mass-production nature of printmaking by selling a framed print with the original linoleum block.  

One response to “Printmaking Simplicity

  1. simplicity in art can sometimes be a little easier to understand. i have two mark rothko prints hanging above my dresser. there is something neat about both of the two-colored rectangles…

Leave a Reply

