Numbers

What can you make of numbers?  I was just reading some stats put out by a church I very much respect, and found that most of their campuses have 75-85% participation in small group.  I celebrated for the kingdom; I felt sad for myself.  At only 52% participation at my church, I kind of felt like a failure.

I brightened my day with a little creative cunning.  If we started using Sunday attendance as the denominator instead of regular participants we feel spiritually responsible for, our numbers boosted to 75-85% participation.  If we add those outside our church who participate in our small groups to the numerator, we sneak past 100%.

Whew.  I can sleep easy tonight.

Leave a Reply

