Good Friday for a Four Year Old

My wife has done an amazing job sparking my son’s curiosity in Good Friday.  I’m up to my eye balls right now in Hosanna songs and questions about Jesus’ owies!

To make sense of it all, I finally started talking about Jesus’ owies as actually being death.  As the “Why?” questions flowed, I did my best to explain how bad people like us got the bad things taken care of because Jesus took the punishment.  I explained we all needed him to die.

A few hours went by this morning, and then my son asked me to read him a story.  He found our children’s Bible and asked me to read about Jesus.  I opened to the first Jesus story and he says, “No, the part about Jesus dying.”  I skip ahead to some story on miracles and again he says, “No, the part about Jesus dying.” 

Finally, I found the right page and read Jesus’ final day to my son.  We sat there quietly, read it a second time, and sat quietly again.  Both of us are trying to make sense of it all.

Leave a Reply

