Pearls & Pigs

I’ve had a handful of people approach me recently about confrontation issues they have with others.  They know what they would say, if they would say it, but that’s just the question – should they say it? 

I’ve come around to refining my reply as this:  Is there a possibility of them changing if you confront them?  Is there a confession or apology on your part that should be rolled into your confrontation?  Is the person non-dangerous; someone who isn’t likely to hurt you in return for the confrontation, even if they are unhappy about it?

If you can answer yes to one of the three, my understanding is that God would have you confront.  I believe that everything else would be categorized by Jesus as “throwing pearls to pigs.”

Leave a Reply

