6 Coaching Questions

Dave and Jon Ferguson use six coaching questions at Community Christian Church. 

  1. How are you?
  2. What are you celebrating?
  3. What challenges are you facing?
  4. What do you plan to do about those challenges?
  5. How can I help?
  6. How can I pray for you?

I like the list.  It’s usable, comprehensive, and you can go through them in an informal manner over the course of a normal conversation.

I suppose the list could be shortened.  #1 happens on its own, and #6 should be obvious by the time you get through the first five.

I would like to see another question added, something to the effect of “What’s your goal; and what’s your plans/progress toward that goal?”  A question such as this would make their guide more proactive, whereas now it feels a bit reactive.

One response to “6 Coaching Questions

  1. Looking to broaden a bit the questions of the Life Transformation Groups. I particularly like questions 3 & 4. Answer 2 would tend to come out. I mean if I am celebrating something, I’ll tend to talk about it.

Leave a Reply

