#82 Milwaukee

According to Barna, Milwaukee ranked #82 on his “Most Bible Minded Cities” study.  In other words, Milwaukee is amongst the least Bible minded… second least amongst midwest cities included in the study.

It’s interesting to ponder.

I recently moved from Albany, NY, which was ranked #2 least Bible minded… and boy did I feel it out there!  I had good friendships in which it was 2 years or more before I saw any receptivity to spiritual conversation.  By comparison, I feel Milwaukee is much more open to faith… but I suppose the study predicted that by comparison.

At any rate, it’s important for us not to take spiritual interests for granted.  A lot of times us Christians get caught answering questions that no one is asking.  Let’s keep a pulse on our city and what the “good news” of Jesus would look like and sound like in their terms.

6 responses to “#82 Milwaukee

  1. Thanks for highlighting this. I saw this, as well, Brian and hope to make some comments about it. I am still trying to wrap my mind around what “Bible-minded” means.

  2. Admittedly, the study was not explained well!

  3. Hello Brian – I really appreciate being able to catch up a bit if not in person at this sight. Praying for you, Melissa, kids and your flock. Deb Schneider gives me bits and tidbits once and a while and I am excited about the new opportunities in this area. ‘Bible Minded’ – interesting combination of words, but I think perhaps it carries different definition concepts in various parts of our Nation and even the World. For example in the south where we worked a few years back, people quoted scripture constantly in some of the homes, and could not always explain what they meant by their comments. I have heard others say “all you think about is what the Bible would say – how does that Jesus talk to you anyway?” and so on. Or my great-grandmother who was a very strict Baptist would preface her remarks about “do’s and don’ts” with comments about ‘well the Bible says…. and what God means by that is that if you think you shouldn’t do it – don’t cause the Good Lord is always watch’n-and remember as your Heavenly Father He is just trying to protect you….that’s what loving parents do….’ Bible Minded – how much you study the Bible, how much you know or how much you apply the Bible to your daily lives…. I am enjoying the galleries, so please keep me onyour list. Sending allof you a SMILE and Happy Hello. karen mcnelly

    ________________________________

  4. BH–you left us before the Albany could be more “Bible-minded”. Looks like we have more work to do!

  5. Hi Brian,

    This seems to explain in part what being “bible-minded’ is from their webpage: “Individuals who report reading the Bible in a typical week and who strongly assert the Bible is accurate in the principles it teaches are considered to be Bible-minded. This definition captures action and attitude—those who both engage and esteem the Christian scriptures. The rankings thus reflect an overall openness or resistance to the Bible in the country’s largest markets.”

    I wonder how this relates to Alan Hirch’s M0-M4 degrees of cultural proximity…

  6. I’d definitely draw a correlation to Hirsch’s framework. It’s important for us to know how big of a jump (or small) it is for a context to embrace Jesus/church.

Leave a Reply

